Special Integration Groups

ISSS Special Integration Groups

A Special Integration Group is not a Special Interest Group. See Special Integration Groups Purpose.

Special Integration Groups may jointly focus on common interests (at a distance) over the year, and/or join in formal discussion at the annual meeting.

Groups congregating in designated sessions at an annual meeting may be placed into one of two categories:

  • SIGs represented in council, that have been ratified by the Board of Directors, and have scheduled at least one paper session within the past two annual meetings; and
  • Coordinated sessions, that share in an annual meeting, but may have organizational affilations independently of the ISSS.

For more information on SIGs, consult the ISSS Bylaws, section 4.10.

SIGs represented in council

Please contact the following SIG chairs for further information and any questions you may have about their work or submitting a paper in the annual meeting.

 

SIGs SIG Chair(s) Contact
Action Research Shankar Sankaran shankar.sankaran@uts.edu.au
Agent-based Social Systems Shingo Takahashi shingo@waseda.jp
Balancing Individualism and Collectivism Janet McIntyre janet.mcintyre@flinders.edu.au
Critical Systems Theory and Practice Jennifer Wilby isssoffice@dsl.pipex.com
Curating Emergence for Thrivability Alexander Laszlo

alexander@syntonyquest.org

Designing Educational Systems Ockie Bosch ockie.bosch@adelaide.edu.au
Health and Systems Thinking Thomas Wong ISSS@EC-Balance.org
Hierarchy Theory Billy Dawson billyd11@aol.com
Human Systems Inquiry Shankar Sankaran Shankar.Sankaran@uts.edu.au
Information Systems Design and Information Technology Bela A Banathy babanathy@yahoo.com
ISSS Roundtable Sue Gabriele sgabriele@gemslearning.com
Living Systems Science Jim Simms jrsimms@juno.com
Organisational Transformation and Social Change Louis Klein louis.klein@segroup.de
Relational Science John Kineman john.kineman@colorado.edu
Research Towards General Theories of Systems David Rousseau david.rousseau@systemsphilosophy.org
Socio-Ecological Systems Stefan Blachfellner and Liss Werner stefan.blachfellner@bcsss.org or lisscwerner@tactile-architecture.com
Spirituality and Systems Carl Swanson CarlT.Swanson@gmail.com
Students SIG Anne Stephens stephens.liley@gmail.com
Systemic Approaches to Conflict and Crises Dennis Finlayson and Gerhard Chroust dennisfinlayson56@yahoo.com and gerhard.chroust@jku.at
Systems Applications in Business and Industry Louis Klein and Gandolfo Dominici louis.klein@segroup.de and 

gandolfo.dominici@libero.it

Systems Biology and Evolution Len Troncale lrtroncale@csupomona.edu
Systems and Mental Health Tamar Zohar Harel tzoharel@macam.ac.il
Systems Modeling and Simulation Janet Singer jsinger@soe.ucsc.edu
Systems Pathology Len Troncale lrtroncale@csupomona.edu
Systems Philosophy David Rousseau david.rousseau@systemsphilosophy.org

Exploratory Groups

Exploratory Groups are typically convened at an annual meeting. They may come together only once or twice and then disband, or they may self-organize for formal recognition as a Special Integration Group. A SIG chair has voting authority as a member of the ISSS Council, whereas Exploratory Groups are not represented in Council.

Foundations of Information Science

Soren Brier and Bela Banathy

sbr.lpf@cbs.dk 
babanathy@yahoo.com
Systemic Consulting Louis Klein louis.klein@segroup.de
Systemic Project Management Louis Klein louis.klein@segroup.de
Service Systems Science Michael Singer

mjsinger@soe.ucsc.edu

Systems Engineering Janet Singer jsinger@soe.ucsc.edu