Special Integration Groups

ISSS Special Integration Groups

A Special Integration Group is not a Special Interest Group. See Special Integration Groups Purpose.

Special Integration Groups may jointly focus on common interests (at a distance) over the year, and/or join in formal discussion at the annual meeting.

Groups congregating in designated sessions at an annual meeting may be placed into one of two categories:

  • SIGs represented in Council, that have been ratified by the Board of Directors, and have scheduled at least one paper session within the past two annual meetings; and
  • Coordinated sessions, that share in an Annual Meeting, but may have organizational affilations independently of the ISSS.

For more information on SIGs, consult the ISSS Bylaws, section 4.10.

SIGs represented in Council

Please contact the following SIG chairs for further information and any questions you may have about their work or submitting a paper in the annual meeting.

 

SIGs SIG Chair(s) Contact
Action Research Shankar Sankaran shankar.sankaran@uts.edu.au
Balancing Individualism and Collectivism Janet McIntyre janet.mcintyre@flinders.edu.au
Critical Systems Theory and Practice Jennifer Wilby enquiryisss@gmail.com
Curating Emergence for Thrivability Alexander Laszlo

alaszlo@itba.edu.ar

Designing Educational Systems Ockie Bosch ockie.bosch@adelaide.edu.au
Ethics and Systems John Vodonick jvodonick@gmail.com
Health and Systems Thinking Thomas Wong ISSS@EC-Balance.org
Hierarchy Theory Billy Dawson billyd11@aol.com
Human Systems Inquiry Dennis Finlayson and Daryl Kulak dennisfinlayson56@yahoo.com and daryl.kulak@gmail.com
Information Systems Design and Information Technology Anand Kumar anand.ar@tcs.com
ISSS Roundtable Sue Gabriele sgabriele@gemslearning.com
Living Systems Science Jim Simms jrsimms@juno.com
Organisational Transformation and Social Change Louis Klein louis.klein@segroup.de
Relational Science John Kineman john.kineman@colorado.edu
Research Towards General Theories of Systems David Rousseau david.rousseau@systemsphilosophy.org
Socio-Ecological Systems Stefan Blachfellner and Liss Werner stefan.blachfellner@bcsss.org or lisscwerner@tactile-architecture.com
Science, Spirituality and Systems Science Delia Macnamara deliamacnamara@gmail.com
Students SIG Amber Elkins elkins@tamhsc.edu
Systemic Approaches to Conflict and Crises Gerhard Chroust 

gerhard.chroust@jku.at

Systems Applications in Business and Industry Andreas Hieronymi andreas.hieronymi@unisg.ch 
Systems Biology and Evolution Len Troncale lrtroncale@cpp.edu
Systems and Mental Health Pamela Buckle Henning buckle@adelphi.edu
Systems Modeling and Simulation Javier Calvo-Amodio Javier.Calvo@oregonstate.edu 
Systems Pathology Len Troncale lrtroncale@cpp.edu
Systems Philosophy David Rousseau david.rousseau@systemsphilosophy.org

Exploratory Groups

Exploratory Groups are typically convened at an annual meeting. They may come together only once or twice and then disband, or they may self-organize for formal recognition as a Special Integration Group. A SIG chair has voting authority as a member of the ISSS Council, whereas Exploratory Groups are not represented in Council.

Foundations of Information Science

Bela Banathy

babanathy@yahoo.com
Systemic Consulting Louis Klein louis.klein@segroup.de
Systemic Project Management Louis Klein louis.klein@segroup.de
Service Systems Science Anand Kumar

anand.ar@tcs.com

Systems Engineering Javier Calvo-Amodio Javier.Calvo@oregonstate.edu